Count Hadelin de Liedekerke Beaufort

FIA President (1958 - 1963)

Born in 1887 of Franco-Belgian origins, Count Hadelin de Liedekerke Beaufort was elected president of the FIA in 1958, beating the only other candidate Prince Amaury de Merode, the President of the RAC in Belgium to the post.

Count de Liedekerke Beaufort, who at the time was President of the ACF, thus continued the tradition of dual presidency of the FIA. He was the last president of the federation to do so.

His presidency was renewed for another three years in 1960 but during his second term he faced an uncertain period of stretched finances and imbalance between sporting and touring activities.

He was the first president of the FIA to deal with the difficulties presented by the admission of national clubs from communist eastern Europe to the federation.

In 1963, at the age of 76, he resigned as president of the FIA, although like his predecessor, he was made Honorary President of the Federation. He continued his role as president of the Automobile Club de France until 1971. 

Count de Liedekerke died in 1974.